Our group was formed on 17th May, 1933 by Rev. GWN Archer with only 9 boys, which had grown to 32 by 1936. During the war the scouts acted as day and night messengers for the Walton Council. By 1948 the size of the group had reached astonishing proportions with 3 cub packs and 2 scout troops – some 230 boys in all! In 1948 Lord P. Baden Powell visited the group and gave a lecture to which neighbouring groups were invited.

Originally the meetings were held at St Mary’s Church Hall then during and after the war at Ashley Road and Ambleside Schools (now Walton Oak)The site on which the current Headquarters stands was acquired in 1952 and the parents worked hard to build the scout headquarters. Finally, on Saturday 28th January, 1956 the group HQ was officially opened, after many years hard work!

Our scout group now consists of one Beaver Scout colony (6-8 yrs), one Cub Scout pack (8-10 ½ yrs) and one Scout troop (10 ½ to 14 yrs). Every Beaver, Cub and Scout wears the same colour group scarf so you can easily recognise someone from 4th Walton.

Our group scarf is blue & black halves and is unique in the country!